Elke Nagy writes her way out of the wilderness

Posted: August 30, 2013 in Friday Guest
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAStarting out as a writer is a big step, and we all have our own individual needs and experiences. So here’s my story about learning how to write in physical isolation within a fairly remote region of Australia, and hence why the internet became a vital component of my own personal transformation.
I have always been a voracious reader, but had never considered writing anything myself. Being rather lazy in many ways, I much preferred reading the fruit of everybody else’s efforts while remaining cosily tucked up in bed with a mug of coffee or a glass of wine, along with a nice view out the window.
However, when I decided to start a career in law, an utterly compelling desire to write fiction became embedded in my brain. This, I guess, was the natural result of spending too many onerous hours slaving over legal essays where just about every sentence had to be accompanied by a substantiating footnote in conjunction with highly irritating formatting requirements. In the end, I decided that once I had earned my little piece of paper, I was going to take six months off to solely write fiction.
But just how does an aspiring fiction writer begin to write? I have to confess that I had absolutely no idea.
In an attempt to find out, I joined my local writer’s group. However, attending “local” writers meeting equated to a three hour round trip in the dry season, and five hours or more in the wet, when the roads become blocked by rising creeks and fallen trees.
So in the alternative, I began to explore what was on offer on the internet. Among other things, I tried attending virtual writing group meetings on Second Life in a beguiling and sometimes naked avatar form.
misty_mountain_range_500Next, I submitted a few short stories to the website, ABC Pool. This was an experimental platform that connected our national broadcaster with local communities across Australia. Here, contributors not only gained feed back on their work from media professionals, as well as the other contributors, they were also provided with the opportunity to have work published at the national level.

In no time at all, I had two of my works broadcast on national radio, and my happy new career was successfully launched. Though remaining true to form, I always prefer to write on my laptop while remaining cosily tucked up in bed with a nice view along with a mug of coffee or a glass of wine. Though red or white is fine. I really don’t mind.

***

Elke Nagy lives in Far North Queensland, Australia, and currently works as freelance writer and visual artist. Three of her short stories have been recently published by Ether Books, and today she is busily engaged in writing up her first novel  — a sensual, yet malevolent murder mystery set in the tropical rainforest of her home environs.

Comments
  1. I love that you joined a writers’ group on Second Life! Always interesting to hear other writer’s way in. Like you I found online groups very helpful and supportive – I started out with ABCtales.com and a couple of competitions – but I live in a small city so my distractions are physical as well as online. Good luck with it all.

  2. elke says:

    Hi Laura. Thanks for your comment. I hadn’t heard of http://abctales.com. Just had a look – very interesting. Cheers

Leave a Reply

