Hi ho silver lining…

Posted: May 13, 2013 in News
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Hello, everyone. I have neglected my blog recently for two good reasons: firstly, I took advantage of the beautiful weather over the last three weeks or so to get out and about and to tackle the acres (seemingly) of ground elder that were choking everything except the Evening Primroses, which go from strength to strength and, secondly, the truth is I haven’t really anything interesting to say. I was waiting and hoping for a success or two (!) to report but aside from making three long lists (including Fish flash, which was very long indeed) one short list (Flash500) and having a couple more stories published on the Ether app, things have been very quiet on the writing front.

I did another, very enjoyable, stint as a selecting editor on FlashFlood and I am delighted to report that the standard was very high overall. People seem to be getting their heads round the genre at last and coming up with some very original themes and formats. There was much less misery around, too, which comes as a relief when you have over fifty pieces to read in a day! What did strike me, and I wasn’t the only editor to notice this, was how many stories were set in stations and on trains. I guess it goes to show how much time so many of us spend commuting! Not wasted time, as it turns out.

Nook picWhat I have done is buy an e-reader – a Nook HD. Yes, I know I wrote a piece not so long ago condemning e-readers as the devil’s work, but an offer came up that I couldn’t refuse and, I have to say, I love it and so does my husband. Even my son is impressed and he’s tried every device on the market! It was half the price of a Kindle Fire and has many more features and formats available for reading. I have been able to download both the Kindle and Ether apps via Google Play, along with iplayer and 4OD, which were too big and fast for my ancient, but trusty, Mac G4. So I’ve been buying apps and books like a madwoman, playing games and watching dance sequences on Youtube, all of which have been out of bounds until now. I have also downloaded Office Suite Professional and there is a decent keyboard, so I can even do odd bits of writing! I haven’t actually read anything on it as yet, but if the weather is as bad in Edinburgh/The Lake District next week as is threatened, it should come in very handy.

And that’s about it for now. I wish you happy reading and successful writing!

Comments
  1. simonkewin says:

    Glad you like it. Did the wireless sort itself out? Oh, and great you can read Ether stories on it – that’s a new thing I guess?

  2. Sue says:

    Hi Simon. I bought a refurbished router like yours and we’ve got a really good signal now all over the house! Yes, the Nook HD is now compatible with android apps, so I’m all tooled up!

  3. safia says:

    Aha! Just like me and my Kindle – you can only resist for so long. I’ve tried my hand at some flash following your inspiration. If you have time, please take a peek on my new blog. I’d value your opinion. Thanks, Sue. http://topofthetent.wordpress.com/flash-fiction/

    • Sue says:

      Hi Safia – lovely to hear from you! I will indeed look at your blog but I’m just off to Edinburgh for a few days so it’ll be next week. I posted four published/prizewinning flashes up YouKnowWhere and you’d laugh if you saw some of the comments. I have thanked everyone nicely, though! Keep in touch. Sue

  4. safia says:

    Just a little something to make you smile (I hope). Sir Edward contacted me recently to thank me for my membership and stories and input on youknowwhere. Could have knocked me down with a feather!

  5. Hi honey 🙂

    I’ve nominated you for a blog award, but please don’t feel obligated to accept. If you do, you can find the info here…

    http://the-view-outside.com/2013/06/26/an-avalanche-of-awards/

    Xx

Leave a Reply

